Dr. YOSHINO Akira was awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

On October 9, 2019, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced that Dr. YOSHINO Akira and other two researchers were awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. His pioneering research in lithium ion batteries was highly evaluated. Dr. YOSHINO is President of the Consortium for Lithium Ion Battery Technology and Evaluation Center (LIBTEC) to which AIST participates. 


吉野彰 技術研究組合リチウムイオン電池材料評価研究センター理事長

Dr. YOSHINO’s pioneering research and following distinguished R&D in lithium ion batteries (LIBs) were highly evaluated and was awarded the prize.  

In 1983, Dr. YOSHINO devised and made a prototype of the present LIBs using carbon as an anode and lithium cobalt(III) oxide as a cathode. After that, he developed basic technology of LIB, i.e. use of aluminum as a current collector of cathode. He also developed electrode, battery, and peripheral technologies that are indispensable for practical use. In 1991, he practicalized new compact lightweight LIBs. 

LIBs that Dr. YOSHINO practicalized are used in present IT devices such as mobile phones and lap-top PCs and contributed to global dissemination of such devices. In the future, wider range of applications of LIBs, for electric vehicles for example, are expected. 

▲ ページトップへ